Slack is a highly popular collaboration tool that is used by teams all over the world. So many people ask how to backup their important data stored in Slack like users, channels, messages history and so on.

In this post I am going to show you how to export Slack data with the help of Backupery for Slack application.

As you might already know Backupery for Slack makes regular and scheduled backup of Slack data to a wide range of backup destination. The complete feature list you can find here, so in this post I am going to focus on how to use the application.

So, to start using the app you need to do the following:

  1. Download & install the app directly from the Slack App Directory: https://slack.com/apps/A1R9DMFS7-backupery-for-slack or from our website: https://www.backupery.com/products/backupery-for-slack
  2. Run the application.
  3. On the first run, your browser window is opened and you will be asked to sign in to your team. The team you sign in is the team those data will be exported by Backupery application: 
  4. On the next screen you will be asked to authorize Backupery for Slack application to your team. Press “Authorize” and the application starts to export your team’s data:

By default, your backups are stored here:

C:\Users\<YOU_USERNAME>\Backupery_ForSlack_Storage

where YOU_USERNAME is your operation system account username. However, you can modify/add/remove backup destinations on Settings tab of the application:

Also, you can change the backup period if you wish.

Each backup take is stored as a zip archive file:

If you unzip the archive, you could review the internals of backup file – all the data are exported from the Slack team like users information, channels information, private & public channels history, direct messages history, and so on.
Slack understands the archive format, so you can easily import the archive back to Slack if necessary.

Hope you like the tool!

As always, if you have any questions, ideas or suggestions, please let us know:

https://www.backupery.com/contact-us/

16 comments

  1. hi
    I test installed today and it is creating crazy amounts of folders – 84 in 2 hrs – none of them with .zip, but .json files that when opened don’t make sense.
    this is on OSX 10.13.4

    1. Hi Josef,
      It seems the application currently is creating a full backup of your Slack workspace. When it finishes (you’ll see “Backup complete” message), it will pack all the folders into a single zip file.

      Please let me know if you have any questions!

    1. Please see this article: How to Backup Multiple Slack Workspaces

      Hi Slackuser!
      Currently the application is supposed to backup a single slack site (workspace) only. If you need to backup several workspaces, you should install the app on several computers.
      We know it’s pretty uncomfortable, so we’ll consider adding the feature that allows to backup several workspaces.
      If you have any questions, please let me know!

    1. Hi Guillermo,

      Thank you for your question.

      Yes, the application backs up messages sent in private channels and direct messages. The general rule that the app backs up the data that authenticated user (I mean the user who uses the app) is related to.

      For example, let’s assume there are three users on your workspace: user1, user2, and user3. If user1 uses the app then it captures the messages (including private messages) between user1 and user2, and between user1 and user3. It doesn’t capture the messages between user2 and user3 though.

      Please note, it is not necessary to be admin to use the app, any user can install and use the application.

      Please let me know if you have any questions!

  2. I have 2 slack workspaces, I inadvertently signed into the channel that I did not want to back up. How do I log out and log back in to back up the the channel I need to?

      1. The Mac instructions don’t work. After I reinstall or I start the app again, it doesn’t ask me for a workspace. Instead, it just either backs up the same workspace, or complains that team name is missing (if I removed the app from the workspace). Is there someplace where the application preferences are stored that I need to delete?

        1. Hi Ante! Sorry for the late response. You are absolutely right – the Mac instructions were obsolete so I’ve just updated them. Please let me know
          if have any questions, I’m here to help!

    1. If a team member clicks Apps on the bottom left, then the app will be displayed in a list of installed applications: View App
      Please let me know if you have any questions!

  3. Will the app back up all channels or just those that I’m part of, including private chats? I’m asking because my backup has been running for a while and was wondering if there is any way I can select specific channels and private chats to back up, instead of all of them.

    Thank you

    1. Hello!
      Thank you for your question. The app backs up all the channels (private and public) which you are part of. Unfortunately, there is no way for now to select specific channels to back up. We know it’s not comfortable so we’ve placed this on our roadmap already!
      Please let me know if I answered your question or if you have any other questions, I’m here to help.

    1. Hi Namrata!

      >> I can’t see the messages and files of private DMs.
      Do you see “Waiting for the next backup” message? I’m asking since probably the app is still backing up the data.

      >> Also, how far back does the backup go?
      It backs up everything, but please keep in mind that if you are on the Free plan on Slack, the message history is limited to 10000 the most recent messages (it’s Slack limitation, not ours).

      Please let me know if you have any questions!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *